A message from Dean Maurer, grants, and more.
A message from Dean Maurer

I wish to thank all of the faculty for making Fall semester courses work out, whether you taught online, hybrid, or on campus.  I admire your adaptability along with your outstanding research, teaching, and service skills.  As you know, because of budgetary issues, we have had to rely on the faculty to take on full teaching loads as much as possible.  Faculty are working harder than ever.  Please remember course releases for research can be requested in two ways. First, you can fill out a form and apply through your Chair to receive a course release for your research.  In addition, for this past spring we offered a Competitive Research Award of one course release plus $500 in research funded by our indirect costs from external research grants.  Congratulations to the winners of the First Competitive Research Award: Maryam Vasefi (Biology); Sylvestre Twagirayezu (Chemistry); Sara Hillin (English); and Stacey Knight (Nursing); and Cengiz Sen (Physics).  I would also like to congratulate the winners of our most recent external grants!  I wish you all a safe and healthy Thanksgiving!  Thank you for all you do for the College of Arts and Sciences.


Dr. Lynn Maurer
Dean, College of Arts and Sciences

Dr. Katrina Brent, Assistant Provost for Enrollment Management, shared the following on the progress reports that each department were asked to complete. "I wanted to send a quick note to thank you and your faculty for supporting the Progress Report campaign.  We are excited that we received a response rate of 80.5% from the University and 73.3% from the College of Arts and Sciences.  We beat our University goal of 75% and exceeded our last fall ’19 overall response rate by 8%."
Thank you for your participation and willingness to help LU succeed.
Research Grants in the College of Arts and Sciences
Drs. Ming Lou and Binod Nainabasti of Department of Physics' proposal "OER Grant Application for PHYS 1402" has been funded by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.
Drs. LeAnn Chisolm (PI), Gina Hale (co-PI), and Eileen Curl (co-PI) of JoAnne Gay Dishman School of Nursing's proposal of "MOVING to Virtually Implemented Clinical Nursing Goals: Facilitating Clinical Judgment with Online Simulations" has been funded by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.
The Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, with Dr. Ozge Gunaydin-Sen (Chair), as the leading PI, has been awarded a departmental research grant by the Welch Foundation.
Dr. Xinya Liu of Department of Computer Science's proposal of "Collaborative Research: RUI: Exploiting Upper Layer Spectrum Sensing and Directionality to Access the Hidden Available Spectrum" has been funded by NSF. 
**PI: Principal Investigator
40 Under 40 Award Recipient
Congratulations to our very own, Maegan Collins. Ms. Collins, Instructor of Political Science, was chosen among forty other young professionals as one of this year's 40 under 40. 
We are so proud of you and all of your achievements.
Our first Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Webinar Series went extremely well and we're so thankful to all moderators and panelists that participated.
Please visit our Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion site to watch the videos if you missed them live. To visit that site quickly, click on the image above.
An Outlet for the English Department
LU Poets Jerry Bradley, Paola Brinkley, Jess Doiron, Casey Ford, Katherine Hoerth, and Gretchen Johnson are participating in an online journal to encourage poetic political dialogue on TX Poetry Ballots.
Click the image to read more. 
Congratulations, Dr. Long!
The National Hartford Center of Gerontological Nursing Excellence has awarded Dr. Elizabeth M. Long, Assistant Professor in the JoAnne Gay Dishman School of Nursing, the Distinguished Educator in Gerontological Nursing Award.
Advancement Update
Larry Eastepp, Criminal Justice '81, has been named Chair of the College of Arts and Sciences Advisory Board. Visit www.eastepplaw.com for more information on our new chair.
Spindletop Gladys City Museum is receiving $5,000 from ExxonMobil and $30,240 from Camille Cawley.
A $300,000 planned gift will be received from Harriet and Terry Jones (Boulder, CO) for scholarships to nursing students. See next block for more information. 
Please click the image to the left to read more about Robbyn's story and how you can give. 

Leaving a Legacy for the JoAnne Gay Dishman School of Nursing


Lamar University JoAnne Gay Dishman School of Nursing alumna Harriet Miller Jones (class of 1978) and her husband Dr. Terry Randall Jones, a retired cardiovascular surgeon, both dedicated their careers to improving the health of individuals and the community. Dr. and Mrs. Jones recognize the unique health care challenges faced by the BIPOC community (Black, Indigenous, and People of Color) and decided to do something to help. They have included a bequest in their estate plans to establish the Harriet Miller and Dr. Terry Randall Jones Presidential Scholarship for the School of Nursing. The Joneses envision their scholarship to provide financial assistance to encourage more BIPOC students to enroll at Lamar University to become health care professionals, which will help to improve health care for the entire BIPOC community.

Harriet explained, “We see the need for more BIPOC professionals in all levels of medicine so that minorities have the opportunity to receive healthcare from citizens who look like them.  A child can’t imagine being a nurse or a doctor if they never see one that looks like them.”

Hosting a virtual event? Having a party? Need graphics or a weekly announcement?
Don't forget to contact Marketing Manager, Natalie Rhodes, to have your event announced in the Weekly Update or have graphics created. Her contact is natalie.rhodes@lamar.edu 
There is a two week turnaround time for all graphics, so please reach out if you need anything soon! 
11/26-27: Campus closed for Thanksgiving
12/11: CoAS Commencement at 3 pm
12/12: CoAS Overflow Commencement at 10 am
12/21-1/1: Campus closed for winter break
1/19: Spring semester begins

4400 South MLK Parkway, Beaumont, TX, 77705

Update Profile/Email Address